THO’s High-Level Outreach Continues in First Four Months of 2018

Throughout the first third of 2018, THO’s leadership and staff continued their high-level outreach with U.S. government officials as well as officials from abroad.

Congressional outreach

So far in 2018, THO’s leadership has met with 26 members of the U.S. Congress. 

THO President Ali Cinar has met with:

  • Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA)
  • Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ)
  • Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT
  • Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC)
  • Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
  • Rep. Joe Kennedy III (D-MA)
  • Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN)
  • Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH)
  • Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY)
  • Rep. Tom Suozzi (D-NY)
  • Rep. Dan Donovan (R-NY)
  • Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
  • Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY)
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
  • Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)
  • Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY)
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
THO Executive Director Yenal Kucuker has met with Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA), Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN), Rep. Steve Russell (R-OK), Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Rep. Bruce Poliquin (R-ME), and Rep. French Hill (R-AR).

Both Mr. Cinar and Mr. Kucuker have met with Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-VA) and Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY). 

In addition, THO representatives have met with the offices of the following members of Congress: Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ), Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC), and Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA).

We were also pleased to welcome Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC) to our joint Capitol Hill event with the Turkish Coalition of America, “African American-Turkish Connections Through the Arts,” on February 28. 

Beyond Congress

Outside of Congress, THO’s leadership and team have met with a variety of high-level officials this year.

In New York City, THO President Ali Cinar met with U.S. Vice President Mike Pence at a special roundtable discussion. 

Mr. Cinar also met with Washington Governor Jay Inslee as well as a delegation from the Free Syrian Army (FSA), who were hosted by the Syrian American Council.

In March, THO hosted a delegation of Turkish parliamentarians from the Committee on Equality of Opportunity for Women and Men (known by its Turkish acronym, KEFEK). The delegation included Chairperson R. Sezer Katircioglu (AKP-Kocaeli) and members Elif Dogan Turkmen (CHP-Adana) and Ayse Sula Koseoglu (AKP-Trabzon).